Frunk won't latch

This section is for technical Q & A
Please try the search function before starting a new thread.
Forum rules
Many subjects will have been discussed before. Please try the search function before starting a new thread.
Check in the Know Your 2 as the information you need may already be there.
Post Reply

Topic author
PhilzMR2
Posts: 2
Joined: 08/11/15 15:29

Frunk won't latch

Post by PhilzMR2 »

I opened my frunk today with no problem, had the 'bonnet' open for a few hours while I worked on the car and now the frunk won't latch when I close it. I've tried spraying the latch mechanism with WD40 but it had no effect.

Any help appreciated. Many thanks.


User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4123
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Frunk won't latch

Post by jimi »

Frunk ?? what's that ?
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image

Wheelnut
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 41
Joined: 04/02/18 22:15

Re: Frunk won't latch

Post by Wheelnut »

Have you tried pushing the catch closed with a screwdriver to see whats happening? Cable isn't binding is it?
User avatar

Synz
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 55
Joined: 18/01/10 8:20
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 4
MR2's Owned: 2
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: Frunk won't latch

Post by Synz »

You should know where your frunk is located by now Jimi :bleh:


I had this issue on my last 2, as stated above I pushed the latch back in with a screw driver and then sprayed some WD40 (other lubrication sprays are also available) on the mechanism and also inside the cable while a friend repeatedly pulled the leaver inside the car. That sorted it for me.
Image
- MR2 Rev5 2.0 GTi T-Bar 2008 - 2011
- MR2 Rev5 2.0 GTi T-Bar 2020 - Present
Instagram: Fuel_Toyota
My Project thread
User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4123
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Frunk won't latch

Post by jimi »

Synz wrote: ↑05/09/20 4:13 You should know where your frunk is located by now Jimi :bleh:
Got a boot not a trunk, if I don't have a trunk how can I have frunk ? :rofl:
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image
Post Reply

Return to “MK3”