Running two batteries

the place to discus in car computers
Post Reply

Topic author
recoil
Posts: 83
Joined: 30/04/07 8:11
Years of MR2 Ownership: 0
Location: plymouth

Running two batteries

Post by recoil »

OK, I have now finished my car putter install, ATM its running off the main battery I dont want this to be the case. I dont want to wait 20-30 secs for the computer to turn on, I want it to be there ready and waiting, it would also be nice to run a wireless network so I can conect to it from home to upload music.

So I have another battery, that will run the computer all the time nerver get turned off, the battery will only be conected to the main battery when the engine is running (use of a relay).

Now is a 30/40 amp relay OK to go between two car batteries


1991 MR2 GT G-Limited
User avatar

madbasshunter
Posts: 988
Joined: 12/07/05 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 0
MR2's Owned: 10
Location: Cullompton Devon
Been thanked: 1 time

Running two batteries

Post by madbasshunter »

This is what you want Ali split charge rely .
Driftlimits Performance Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:45 pm
:facepalm:
Yeah I was desperate for that £160 and tried to rob you. If it wasn't for those ghastly kids.
:th:

Topic author
recoil
Posts: 83
Joined: 30/04/07 8:11
Years of MR2 Ownership: 0
Location: plymouth

Running two batteries

Post by recoil »

Yeah thats what Ive got, I wasnt sure if 30/40 amp was fine for the job
1991 MR2 GT G-Limited
User avatar

chrisE
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 223
Joined: 15/02/05 0:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 14
MR2's Owned: 2
Real Name: Chris
Location: Swindon
Has thanked: 5 times

Running two batteries

Post by chrisE »

99% of Carputers run off the main battery and take 10-15secs (if configured correctly) to boot using Hibernation, so why would you go through all the work needed to fit a second battery?
I didn't do it.

Topic author
recoil
Posts: 83
Joined: 30/04/07 8:11
Years of MR2 Ownership: 0
Location: plymouth

Running two batteries

Post by recoil »

Beacuse I want to, and like I have already said it would be good to run wifi on it too, then I can upload music to it from the home network
1991 MR2 GT G-Limited
User avatar

colsmr2
Posts: 159
Joined: 01/01/07 0:00
Years of MR2 Ownership: 0
Location: westmidlands

Running two batteries

Post by colsmr2 »

why not fit a bluetooth, add a second pc on the network save lots of trouble,
Post Reply

Return to “Carputers”